Cafés in Norwich – Biddy’s Tea Room

This one has grown and grown. Biddy’s Tea Room is one of the quirkier and cuter tearoom destinations, and has become so popular it often has tables reserved.  I wish I could say I thought it deserved this – but I’ve been twice, once in the early days and once last week, and both times I thought the service was awful.  We waited downstairs on bumpy vintage chairs for our table to be cleared, amongst the cake stands and bits of taxidermy that had seen better days.  The waitress completely forgot about us for at least 20 minutes. Eventually we reminded her of our existence and we were seated.  Another long wait for orders to be taken, then the food also took ages to arrive.  In the meantime I had a clear view into the kitchen and could see the waitress scarfing her own sandwich.  Sorry Biddy’s – I like the idea but you really need to get a grip of this service industry malarky.

Leave a Reply

